Thursday, February 4, 2010


Love, Love, Love is in the air...
Valentine's day crap is everywhere...

Let's not get into that right now.

I do admit that I am truly excited to see that Valentine's Day moving coming out next week. Whowouldvethunkit. Damn me for seeing the preview last night.

Gary Chapman came up with this seemingly original idea of the 5 universal love languages. How people express and interpret love. How two people may give or take love in different ways. (Funny how that could ever happen!) How to connect with your loved one with intimacy and fulfillment!!!

These are the 5 love languages:

Words of Affirmation. aka compliments & lovey dovey talk
Quality Time. aka undivided attention, really being there
Receiving Gifts. aka thoughtful gifts or gestures
Acts of Service. aka easing the burden, helping out
Physical Touch. aka physical touch including, but not limited to sex

I remember hearing about it back when I had Christian it's based on those kind of principles. Still, I think it applies and could be in fact rather useful in life, relationships, love, even friendships. Interestingly enough, Chapman figures that we are drawn to those who speak a different love language than our own. (Adding to the already complicated mix known as re-la-tion-ship-s!) So I guess the solution is to figure out what your language is, figure out what language your partner speaks and then if they are different, run. keep that in mind when you express your eternal love for that person.

The verdict is out on moi:

6 Words of Affirmation
9 Quality Time
0 Receiving Gifts
3 Acts of Service
12 Physical Touch

What's your love language?

Find out here

1 comment:

Ashlie said...

i'm pretty sure i speak a completely different love language than every single male i've ever come in contact with. aside from the physical touch part, usually we understand each other on that level.